skip navigation

Some of the most successful Goalcrease Students

Different Styles, All Winners

Just like the greatest goalies in the world (ie. Tim Thomas, M-A Fleury, and Ryan Miller) all play differently-so do our finest students.

Alex Stalock

San Jose Sharks

  • extremely aggressive when playing the puck
  • reactive and unpredictable
  • creative and competitive
  • uses speed and skating to his advantage

Alec Richards

Rockford Ice Hogs -AHL (retired)

  • uses size and patience
  • blocks well but great glove reactions too
  • working on being better playing the puck

Jessie Vetter

USA Women's National Team

  • 2014 Silver Medalist
  • 2013 World Champion
  • 2011 World Champion


Riku Helenius

Tampay Bay Lightning -NHL/Eliteserien

  • Big and flexibile
  • Body-based blocking style

Johan Gustafsson

Iowa Wild -AHL
Minnesota Wild 2010 Draft Pick

  • Big, adept at blocking
  • strong and mature for a young prospect

Kent Patterson

Lake Erie Monsters
Minnesota Gophers -WCHA, Colorado Avalanche Draft Pick

  • Very athletic (fast, strong, and flexible)
  • also very technichally sound
  • can be aggressive and reactive or patient and conservative


Joe Howe

Colorado College -WCHA

  • explosive lateral movement
  • plays puck well
  • tough to beat on low shots


Matt Lundin

Muskegon Lumberjacks -IHL (retired)

  • poke checks often
  • creative and blocks well too
  • competeted for starting job against Ben Bishop and Jimmy Howard while at U of Maine


Wall Of Fame

The lists below reflect achievements made since 2002.

Pro Goalies Top League
Alex Stalock NHL
Igo Bobkov AHL
Erik Hartzell AHL
Mac Carruth AHL
Joe Howe ECHL
Kellen Briggs ECHL
Jeff Frazee AHL
Riku Helenius NHL/Eliteserien (SWE)
Johan Gustafsson Allvenskan (SWE)
Jeff Jakaitis ECHL
Matt Lundin ECHL
Alec Richards AHL
Nathan Ziemski WHA2
Craig Vardy SPHL
Bryce Christianson ECHL
Division I College
Jon Anderson Laura Bellamy Ali Boe
Kellen Briggs Stephen Caple Bryce Christianson
Danielle Ciarletta Johanna Ellison Joe Fallon
Jeff Frazee Alyssa Grogan Joe Howe
Jeff Jakaitis Justin Johnson Alex Kangas
Justin Kowalkowski Matt Lundin Alana Marcinko
Kim Martin Allanah McCready Amanda Nagel
Lars Paulgaard Jessica Ptachick Alec Richards
Rebecca Rueggseger Riitta Shcaublin Michael Shibrowski
Brent Solei Alex Stalock Paige Thunder
Aaron Walski Travis Weber Kent Patterson
Erik Hartzell Michael Taffe Julie Friend
Shyler Sletta Chelsea Laden Sydney Rossman
Adam Wilcox Alex Fons Matt McNeely
Maddie Dahl Shelby Amsley-Benzie Keegan Asmundson
Ryan Coyne
MN High School State Champs NCAA Champs
Kurt Altrichter Justin Johnson
Maddie Burke (2) Kim Martin
Rachel Bowens-Rubin Travis Webb
Kristen Elliot Nathan Ziemski
Andrew Ford (2)
Connor Girard
Alec Richards
Keaton Smith
Julie Friend
Shelby Amsley-Benzie (2) (Only those with min. 1 post-season victory listed)
Justin Quale
Tori Johnson
Sydney Rossman (2)
Anna Kruesel
Wilii Benjamin
Andrew Rohkohl
NCAA All-American Frank Brimsek Award* MN Girls' Sr Goalie Award
Kim Martin Jon Anderson Alyssa Grogan
Riitta Schaublin Reid Ellingson Alannah McCready
Beth Spurrier Matt Lundin Julie Friend
Alex Stalock Casey O'Connor Sydney Rossman
Nathan Ziemski Alec Richards Erin O'Neil
Laura Chamberlain
Adam Wilcox

*The Frank Brimsek Award is given to Minnesota's top Sr boys' high school goalie